New Faculty Orientation Agenda 2022

Wednesday, August 17, 2022

All events will take place at Riggs Library, inside of Healy Hall


8:00- 8:30 a.m.

Welcome from Vice Provost Chandan Vaidya 

8:30- 8:40 a.m.

Chandan Vaidya, Vice Provost for Faculty and Professor of Psychology, Georgetown College

Georgetown’s Jesuit Mission and Identity

8:40- 9:15 a.m.

The Vice President for Campus Ministry, Fr. Mark Bosco, S.J. will provide an overview of Georgetown’s Jesuit and Catholic heritage, and the Mission and Identity of Cura Personalis. As the nation’s oldest Catholic and Jesuit university, Georgetown’s ideals and traditions are as much a part of its present culture as they were in 1789. He will discuss the values, principles, and goals that make up the Georgetown Mission. “Georgetown educates women and men to be reflective lifelong learners, to be responsible and active participants in civic life, and to live generously in service to others.”

Academic Leadership Panel I

9:30- 10:15 a.m.

Vice Provost for Faculty Chandan Vaidya will moderate a discussion with academic deans:

  • Dennis Quinn, Vice Dean, and Powers Term Professor in International Business, McDonough School of Business (MSB)
  • Joel Hellman, Dean, School of Foreign Service (SFS)
  • Kelly Otter, Dean, School of Continuing Studies (SCS)
  • Rosario Ceballo, Dean, Georgetown College (COL)

Academic Leadership Panel II

10:15 – 11:00 a.m.

Vice Provost for Faculty Chandan Vaidya will moderate a discussion with academic deans:

  • Maria Cancian, Dean, McCourt School of Public Policy (MSPP)
  • Alexander Sens, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS)
  • Roberta Waite, Dean, School of Nursing
  • Christopher King, Dean, School of Health

A Conversation with Provost Groves

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Q & A with Provost Robert Groves


12:00- 1:15 p.m.

  • Introduction to Faculty Governance
    • Ed Soule, Chair, Main Campus Executive Faculty, and Associate Professor, McDonough School of Business
    • Susan Mulroney, President, Faculty Senate, and Professor of Pharmacology, Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Introduction to Classroom Technology
    • Kathleen Julien, Senior Classroom Manager, and Event Support Lead
    • John Steitz, Associate Director for Classroom Support and Systems

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at Georgetown: Initiatives

1:15- 2:00 p.m.

Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity, Rosemary Kilkenny, will discuss programs and practices in support of diversity, equity, and inclusion to ensure that members of our community feel a sense of belonging.

Towards an Inclusive Pedagogy: Delivering a Signature Georgetown Learning Experience

2:00- 4:00 p.m.

  • Edward J. Maloney, Executive Director, Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship (CNDLS)
  • Margaret Debelius, Director of Faculty Initiatives at CNDLS and Teaching Professor, Department of English, Georgetown College
  • Joe Fisher, Executive Director, Academic Resource Center (ARC)
  • Joselyn Schultz Lewis, Senior Associate Director for Inclusive Teaching and Learning Initiatives at CNDLS
  • MC Chan, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Biology, Georgetown College

This session will introduce new faculty to resources from the Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship to support inclusive teaching. The session will feature breakout sessions on topics, including:

  • Inclusion and belonging
  • Well-being
  • Jesuit values
  • Difficult discussions
  • Academic Resource Center

Overview of Benefits

4:00- 4:30 p.m.

Mike Fanning, Benefits Service Officer

Overview of benefits offered to Faculty at Georgetown University

Faculty Group Photo

4:40- 5:00 p.m.

Outside of Healy Hall

President’s New Faculty Welcome Reception

5:00- 6:30 p.m.

Dahlgren Quadrangle Tent

(located between Healy Hall and Dahlgren Chapel)

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Breakfast & Faculty Headshots

8:00- 9:00 a.m.

Strategic and Academic Initiatives

9:00- 10:20 a.m.

  • Earth Commons: Peter Marra, Director of the Earth Commons: Georgetown University Institute for the Environment and Sustainability and Laudato Si’ Professor of Biology and the Environment
  • Emerging Ethics: Daniel Sulmasy, Director of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, and André Hellegers Professor of Biomedical Ethics, Center for Clinical Bioethics, Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Racial Justice Institute: Anita Gonzalez, Co-Founder of the Racial Justice Institute and Professor of African American Studies and Performing Arts, Georgetown College
  • Tech & Society: Lisa Singh, Director of the Massive Data Institute and Professor of Computer Science, Georgetown College

Tenure Line Faculty Sessions

Navigating Rank and Tenure: Success at Georgetown

10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

  • Janet Mann, Provost’s Distinguished University Professor, Departments of Biology and Psychology, Georgetown College
  • Marden Nichols, Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Classics, Georgetown College
  • Simon Blanchard, Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor and Beyer Family Term Professorship, McDonough School of Business
  • Joanna Lewis, Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor and Director of Science, Technology and International Affairs, School of Foreign Service
  • Shweta Bansal, Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor and Associate Professor, Department of Biology, Georgetown College

Research at Georgetown: Grants Administration and Student Engagement

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

  • Billy Jack, Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Economics, Georgetown College
  • Rohan Williamson, Vice Provost for Education and Professor, McDonough School of Business
  • Lauren Tuckley, Director, Center for Research and Fellowships

This session will provide an overview of internal grants and resources for research at Georgetown for faculty and opportunities to involve undergraduate students.

Non-Tenure Line Faculty Session

Introduction to Non-Tenure Line Faculty Policies and Framework

10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

  • Barbara Schone, Teaching Professor, McCourt School of Public Policy
  • Kirsten Anderson, Teaching Professor, McDonough School of Business
  • Patrick Johnson, Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Physics, Georgetown College


12:00 – 1:00 p.m.


We look forward to seeing you!